Tips - Where to save money on a limited budget gaming rig?

Shoujo

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2006
When building a limited-budget (~$1200) gaming rig from scratch (nothing to recycle), what parts, if any, can one skimp on while hurting gaming performance the least? Another way of looking at this is what components provide the most bang for buck? I've looked at the hardware charts and all, but they compare graphics cards vs graphics cards, not graphics cards vs CPUs vs memory (I think). Could be because the answer's really obvious, but I'm not tech savvy :oops: At this stage, I'm still looking for general tips and theories, not specific components (though it wouldn't hurt). Thanks in advance and please excuse the laymen's terms.

Dunno, if it's relevant, but I've listed my gaming priorities below to give an idea of what I'm looking for in a machine.

Eye candy - I certainly don't mind if it's there :) However...

Performance - ...I'd much rather have a game run without stuttering during those graphically intensive moments than see all the eye-candy in full glory. Minimal loading times and not having performance degrade after playing for several hours straight would be nice too.

FPS - 25 ~ 30 and I'm happy. Don't think the human eye (or just me) can tell the difference between 30 and 60 FPS. Plus I don't play shooters, so I don't need that extra .01 second advantage.

Sound - Eh, don't care. Have yet to play a game where I didn't just end up turning off the sound because it grew old. Playing the same game for ~3 years tends to have that effect.

Future proofability - Since games I like come out about once every ~5 years, I'm not too worried. Everything I have becomes obsolete by then anyway.

*Case it matters, the game I'm looking to upgrade for is Neverwinter Nights 2.

One place to cut corners is to use integrated audio instead of a discreet sound card. For most people integrated graphics should be enough. You can save up money and add a sound card later.