I can connect to access point but "CANNOT FIND INTERNET

Vince604

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2002
I built a computer for a friend of mine. I've never set up a wireless connection before and am stuck.

Basically he has three computers already connected wirelessly to a Linksys WRT54G that all work fine.
The system I built him has a Linksys WMP54GS. I installed the latest drivers from online and used the "Step-By-Step" installation guide to connect to the WRT54G.

When the connection setup is done, the status message I get is somewhere along the lines of, "connected to access point, cannot find Internet"
The only time the internet is found is when I plug in a regular network wire from the router as well.

I'm new to wireless, so if anyone can help me out I'd appreciate it.
Thanks.

TC10284

Distinguished
Sep 10, 2001
Did you setup and encryption on the WRT54G such as 64 or 128bit WEP? If so, did you input that key into the system during the wireless connection setup?

I know if you don't put in the WEP key on the hosts, the WNIC (wireless network interface card) can connect to the access point but it won't be leased an IP which could be one reason why you are getting a message saying that you are connected to the AP but it "couldn't find the Internet".

Vince604

Distinguished
Mar 1, 2002
Did you setup and encryption on the WRT54G such as 64 or 128bit WEP? If so, did you input that key into the system during the wireless connection setup?

I know if you don't put in the WEP key on the hosts, the WNIC (wireless network interface card) can connect to the access point but it won't be leased an IP which could be one reason why you are getting a message saying that you are connected to the AP but it "couldn't find the Internet".

The WRT54G does have encryption. It's either 64 or 128bit WEP and I tried each one individually (ran the "step-by-step" installation wizard a few times) with the correct key in the system.

Would resetting the WRT54G help with anything?

TC10284