How to bridge Gigafast WF719-CAPR w.router to DLink DI624 ?

fuc847

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2005
I have 2 wireless routers. one is GigaFast WF719-CAPR and one is a D-Link DI-624.

I am having a problem connecting 2 wireless routers so that both can provide internet access. Actually, I'm not very experienced in using the advanced functions of the WF719. So it would be helpful if you can guide me. Here is my situation:

The network configuration in my house is:
w = wired connection using normal ethernet cable
wl = wireless connection through air

DSL Modem (providing internet) --w--> DI624 ----wl-----> WF719 --w--> Computer

My objective:
I want the computer to have internet access, but first, i need to have the WF719 connect to the DI624 like a client (like a wireless NIC would), but also be able to provide internet to the computer connected. Specifically, can you tell me what settings my WF719 is suppose to use so that it can do what i want? I tried using "Bridge" Mode (instead of gateway mode), but when i went to site survey and tried to connect to the DI624, it says "Failed to connect!" The DI624 seems to only work in gateway mode. But the WF719 is able to be in 3 modes: Gateway, Bridge, Wireless ISP. And in other settings, it says it can be a AP, Client, WDS, or AP+WDS, i'm not sure what all these are and therefore not sure what settings i should use.

This is just for home usage at normal adsl speeds 1.5mbps.

And what's the best way I can do this? what settings i should use w/o buying further equipment?

My previous configuration which worked look like:
DSL Modem --w--> DI624 ----wl-----> Wireless NIC adaptor (connect to computer thru PCI).
In this case, the computer was able to get internet.

I should note that, when I did a site survey on the WF719, the signal number says 30-40, is this low signal strength a factor in this problem?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thank you.

jwl

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2005