Sign in with
Your question

Overclocked a Quadro to 3.3GHz without increasing voltage?

Last response: in Overclocking
October 18, 2006 3:13:10 AM

I just re-read the Quadro review here on THG and I realised that they didnt increase voltage to attain 3.3GHz with the Quadro. Thats really sweet because from what little I know about overclocking, you dont loose the warranty if you dont mess with increasing voltages.

So my question is, how did they manage that frequency without a voltage increase?

Im a ocing noob, so bear with me.

I plan on getting a Quadro shortly after it comes out, and that piece of info seems very interesting. So with good cooling and a slight voltage increase, you could probably get it above 3.8GHz or something. Man that thing is going to rock. Especially since I do video editing.

I think I should buy a cheap Pentium D like the 805 and practice OCing, cause I sure as hell wouldnt want to fry such an expensive CPU since it would be my first attempt at such a thing.
a c 132 à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
October 18, 2006 3:36:05 AM

Core 2 tends to need less voltage for ocing....many are going from 2.4(e6600) to 3.0 and higher on stock too..... :) 
since quadro is just 2 conroes together....it will see the same OC ability.
October 18, 2006 3:39:25 AM

Core 2 Duo's are notorious for being ludicrously simple to overclock, and it follows that Core 2 Quad are also. It's not uncommon to be able to run an E6600 at 3GHz without any vCore increase.
Related resources
October 18, 2006 3:59:03 AM

My E6400 runs 3Ghz without adding any voltage.
October 18, 2006 4:01:28 AM

Quote:
Core 2 tends to need less voltage for ocing....many are going from 2.4(e6600) to 3.0 and higher on stock too..... :) 
since quadro is just 2 conroes together....it will see the same OC ability.