Sign in with
Your question

What are stable OC settings for C2D 6600, 965P-DQ6, OCZ-DDR2

Last response: in Overclocking
October 18, 2006 1:28:44 PM

Hi y'all.
W-A-R-N-I-N-G... OC nOOb here.

What would be a set of stable OC settings for my hardware listed below?
Intel C2D-6600, Stock Intel CPU Fan Cooler
Gigabyte Ga-965P-DQ6, F6 BIOS version,
OCZ-DDR2-800?
ATI AIW X1900 256MB GDDR3
3x120mm Fans using (S.M.A.R.T. Fan settings)
UltraX 500W PSU
Dual 750GB SATA2 Seagates.
Pioneer 16x Burner
Windows XP Pro. SP2

I've tried a few things including the Gigabyte Easytune 5 (updated it last night 10-18-2006) & the system is stable until the next reboot.
Using the Easytune 5 I've gotten it to go up to 2.81ghz. But on the next reboot it BSOD's or hangs or reboots on it's own during Windows' bootup.

When I reboot the system freezes or hangs up or BSOD until I remove any OC settings I've done either in the BIOS or in EASYTUNE 5. I end up going back to default settings.
I'd prefer to OC in the BIOS if at all possible & if stable.

PS: My 3DMARK06 score without my attempted OCing is: 4506
Is this normal?

Thanks guys & gals.
October 20, 2006 5:40:45 PM

Thanks, but I was hoping someone would post something that I could use as a starting reference point that I could work with.
Being that I'm a noobie to forumz, is there one central location here where I can find the "STICKIES"? Or do I have to sift through 50,000 message in the past to find 'em? Thanks again.
October 22, 2006 4:56:28 PM

wusy is extremely busy right now so post a thread before PM him and im sure there are other experienced OCer along the forums thatll help you.
The 1.4v vCORE and 2.2v vDIMM he suggestes in the guide are extremely safe. Things will last long enough for you to forget them at those voltages.
Related resources
October 22, 2006 5:54:11 PM

I have a DQ6 with an e6600 and my settings are;

FSB 334 (that's 3.0GHz)
Memory multiplier 2.5 (DDR2-835)
Memory 5-5-5-12
+0.225v on Vdimm