Sign in with
Your question

Intel BOXD975XBXLKR or ASUS P5W DH DELUXE..?

Tags:
  • Motherboards
  • NAS / RAID
  • Intel
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
October 20, 2006 1:48:59 AM

This is my first build and am still stuck on which mobo to choose. I will be setting up the 2 seagates in raid 0 and (maybe/possibly) in the future add 2 more drives in raid 0.
I might not overclock right out of the box, but i would want to get the best speed out of my system by ocing a little. I admit i know nothign bout OCing, but with the equipment im buying, i want it to run as fast as possible, having 1:1 ratio for i believe the fsb and ram? :o 
The intel board has good reviews and seems stable, but i dont understand the need for 3 pcie16x slots and says its not OC friendly.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks

More about : intel boxd975xbxlkr asus p5w deluxe

October 23, 2006 4:15:37 AM

Unless you need the 3 PCIe (wich clearly you dont) theres no reason to go for the BadAxe.
How far do you want to push that E6600? I didnt see a HSF in the list.
October 26, 2006 2:11:31 PM

Updated the specs on my build:
I took out the Case and Speakers, as i already bought them:
Antec p180 Black for $95 shipped
Logitech z-5500 for $222 shipped

I added a HSF and Artic 5 and changed my RAM from Super Talent to Corsair (saves me $20)

I'm looking to get atlest 3.3 to 3.5 with this setup, and im leaning towards the asus board. I do need the pci slots, as one will be for the Sound Card and the other 2 for TV Tuner Cards. Raid is also important to me.

So, if anyone has any other suggestions as to which motherboard, im listening :) 

Thanks
Related resources
October 26, 2006 3:06:08 PM