Sign in with
Your question

Will these system components work well together?

Last response: in Systems
October 21, 2006 12:06:04 AM

Hi everyone! This is my first time posting on these forums, but I have been reading here for months.
I plan on building a computer soon, but I just wanted to double check if all my components will work together without causing major compatibility issues. I have helped build computers for others, but this is the first time I will be building a computer for myself. I am not a hard-core gamer, but I think my antiquated P4 system is preventing me from becoming one :twisted: ! I do not plan on overclocking the system immediately after assembly, but I do plan on overclocking this system eventually.
My choices for components are the following:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1681...

Mobo: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3

RAM: Patriot (2 x 1GB) DDR2 667 (PC2 5300), model # PDC22G5300LLK
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1682...
Will this RAM allow me to overclock my CPU to 3.0 -3.25 GHz with my currently planned setup.

PSU:
OCZ GamerXStream 600W

Case:
Antec P180
Will the included power supply cables be adequately long for this case?

Cooler: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1683...

Graphics Card: HIS Radeon X1900XT, 256 MB GDDR3 version
(Note: I was planning on getting sapphire version of this card, but newegg doesn't seem to have any available at this moment. I might get this card instead and change the stock cooler.)

Hard Drive:
Seagate Barricuda 320 GB perpendicular recording drive

DVD Burner:
Samsung
(Which type of cables for this drive would provide the least clutter in my case?)

Monitor:
Samsung 204B-BK Black 20.1" 5ms DVI LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 800:1 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E1682...

Keyboard:
Logitech G15

Mouse:
Logithech G5

Floppy Drive: NEC