Suggestions on a HTPC Build

erickoegle

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2006
I will definately be looking into building a HTPC in the near future. Probably with a black case so it can integrate nicely with my current setup. I've been building PC's for about 6 years now so it's not really how am I going to put it all together. I came here to this forum to take on suggestions on what components to put together.

Case: Any black HTPC case that can be rack mountable with at least 2 drive bays for cds.
Motherboard: Does not really matter if it has dual pci express because I will probably only be using 1 card. (Wireless capabilities would be excellent.)
RAM: Probably at least a Gig, not too sure on what type, depends on MOBO
CPU:Not too sure to go withdual core processors or with AMD or Intel, some input would be helpful here.
PSU: Probably something modular for ease of cabling and airflow.
Sound Card: I know I definately should get one, but I would like one that has either optical or digital coaxial connections to connect to my Digital Decoder.
Video Card: Anything that has DVI (I will be running DVI to the TV because it does not have HDMI) Potentially have VIVO as well, I do want to use my HTPC to act as a DVR.
Video Capture Card: I already have a Winfast TV2000XP card on my regular PC that I am currently not using.
HDD: Probably around 500gigs or so. I'd rather not go with raptors because they are insanely loud.
Input devices: I already have wireless mouse and keyboard.
DVD: I definately need at least one dvd burner, (lightscribe doesnt matter because I dont use that) and one DVD player that is relatively quiet when spinning.

Price range said and done, less than $2,000 I don't really want to go that high but if I have to.
Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

utaka95

Distinguished
Jan 12, 2006