My first game machine build, stuck on power supply

gsusInAPixel

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2006
I'm new to building my own computer. Therefore I am stuck and unsure as how much power I will need currently and in the presumably in the future as I upgrade. I have a list of some of the hardware pieces I would like to use. Here are the proposed specs so far.

Core Duo E6600 2.4ghz
Geforce 7900 gtx 512MB ( will add another in the future)
2GB CORSAIR XMS2 DDR2 800
2x Seagate barracuda 320GB running raid 0 (would add more in the future)
For the MB I plan on using Nforce 680i when it comes out next month hoping it is not delayed or if it is
ASUS P5N32-SLI PREMIUM/WIFI-AP

I have looked at NVIDIA’s site for PSU recommendations running SLI for the 7900 gtx. The list varies in price and watts. From that list, here are PSU that caught my attention.

Antec TruePower Trio 650W
Corsair HX620W
OCZ GameXSTREAM 700W
Thermaltake toughPower 700W

I was hoping to find websites that would have comparison charts of different PSU. Similar to how graphics cards are compared. Does anyone know where I may find those charts? Or good comparison reviews?

Out of the four PSU, which would make the most sence for me to buy?

lambofgode3x

Distinguished
Oct 10, 2006
toughpower....its one of the most efficient power supplies out there...thg did a comparison of power supplies a little bit ago, so just poke around and try to find it.

G

Antec Trio : 3 12V rails, 19A each, +12V1, 12V2,12V3 maximum output 624 Watts max, Efficiency up to 85% , 140$

Corsair: 3 12v rails, 18A each, 600W max output on 12V, offers high efficiency, up to 80% under wide load range, 180$ - modular

OCZ: 4 12v rails, 18A each, max output on the 12v??, 80% @ 115V (Typical load), 160$

TT: 4 12v rails, 18A each, max output 672,efficiency up to 85%, 170$, -modular

So here is why Rich said the TT, its modular, good efficiency, and the highest 12V output of all of them(if newegg is wrong).