sempron 64 bit or p4 d805?

cd_rom

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2006
I plan to do upgrade my comp this weekend and i got on around 200 quids to spend on a cpu, a motherboard and few sticks of ram. Originally, i plan to buy amd sempron 64 bit 3000 socket 754 cost 65 quid from pcworld as i can't buy stuff online yet as I'm still a student :oops: and that goes with a NFORCE 3A AMD Motherboard. But after reading the article on overclocking p4 d805 to 4.1, well i just like to overclock it to 3.5 or 3.6 and it's also dual core so that make me change my mind a little and it costs 79 quid!

So any suggestions would be appreciated!
Oh, my first post here. Greeting to you guys.

choirbass

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2005
the riser board (for the asrock PCI-e/agp board) from what ive heard is fairly expensive, so if you wanted to go with am2, the least expensive route would just be to purchase an am2 cpu/motherboard/ddr2 memory instead

also, as far as the 805 dual core... i would suggest going for that, for several reasons...

1) its dual core, so you immediately have a boost in performance/responsiveness/productivity right away, compared to a single core solution. not to mention the boost from apps that can take direct advantage of a dual core cpu

2) its inexpensive like you were saying.

3) you did say you were only OCing as high as 3.6, so the requirement for an aftermarket cooler isnt quite as high... couldnt hurt either way though (such as being able to keep noise levels down), but its not a necessity then as far as temperatures are concerned, i wouldnt think anyhow.

oh, and welcome to toms hardware :)

tool_462

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2006
Go with the D805, with the stock cooler you can hit 3.3-3.6 depending on ambient and your case air flow. You can find a cheap LGA775 board and 1GB of DDR2 memory and be good to go! Any more questions just ask back on the forums.

m25

Distinguished
May 23, 2006