Nameless7

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2006
Hello guys.

This is my first time posting but I have been lurking around these boards for a while now.

Anyway I am hoping to get some input from those of you who are familiar with the tuniq tower cooler. My brother has a socket A pc and he keeps it in a relatively hot room. Lately his pc has been crashing and we found that heat was the issue as his cooling solution was unable to keep his cpu cool enough. A noisy solution is out of the question.

I have read a great many things about the tuniq tower and looking at pics of it, it would seem that the H bracket that comes with it might be similar to those "thermaltake universal" type brackets and "may" therefore be usable in a socket A system. Would anyone out there be able to tell me if this is doable?

the brackets I am talking about:

http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/product/cooler/combo/cl-p0024/cl-p0024.asp

and the tuniq

http://www.amdboard.com/tuniq_tower_120.html

Any info on this would be great. thank you.

ps. If this is not possible, could you recommend the best(performance) and quietest socket A out there. thanks!.

I have a friend using one of these Bad Boys on his Socket A 462 rig, and its really quiet with the 120mm fan, and cools great, so since I know his is really doing a great job I'm reccommending it to you.

Also Crazy PC is a trustworthy place to do business with, I have and have no complaints.

This first link you posted is supposed to fit a socket A, but thats a big cooler as is the Tuniq but my concerns with something that big is I would want it to grab all the socket fingers on the Socket 462 base or bolt through the M/B through predrilled mounting holes that most of the Socket A M/Bs had, to hold that monster in place.

My first post link to you will do what you need but you got to go with what you want.

Nameless7

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2006