P965 S3 Problems Installing Window! Can't even Format!

Airjarhead

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2004
OK, I've googled this problem, and looked through the FAQs, but can't find an answer to this.
I also didn't want to post in the sticky thread becuase I have an S3 (I know it's essentially the same), and I've posted in there before and didn't get any answers.
The manual is also NO help at all!
I have built SEVERAL computers over the years, so I wouldn't say I'm a noob at this either...

Whenever I try to install windows it asks me which partition to use and I choose c: and try to have it format with ntfs. Right after it gets to 100%, an error message comes up and says that the format failed and windows setup can not continue on this drive. It also says the drive may be bad. So, then I try to install it on d: (another drive), but it does the same thing. This is what I have tried:
1. Changing sata drives from purple gigabyte sata to the yellow ones - BTW: which is better?
2. Changing the settings in the BIOS from IDE to AHCI to RAID/IDE - BTW: what the hell do all these mean (another place the manual is useless).
3. Trying to install the raid drivers on a floppy by pressing F6 at the beggining of Windows Setup.
4. Trying a different Xp setup disk.
5. Flashed to F6 BIOS (I actually did this first).

I just used these drives with my old sytem, and they were fine!

WTF am I doing wrong? I'm about to go insane! I've been up all night trying different things. The manual sux, and of course Gigabyte isn't open on a Saturday. I can't call them on the weekdays becuase I'm so busy at work (I've actally had all of the parts since Tues, but couldn't start building until Fri night).

This is my setup:
E6300@stock
Gigabyte P965-S3 F6 BIOS
2x1GB Kingston Hyper-X 750MHz @ Auto
EVGA 7900GTO
Sunbeam NUUO 550W PSU
WD 250GB SATA II 16MB Cache (drive 0)
Seagate 320GB SATA II 16MB Cache (drive 1)
Trying to install Win XP w/ SP2

Thanks

sruane

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2006