Noob needing help with new build

xxx4reggie

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2006
Hi guys,
My Dell 4550 just died, motherboard is done with and so is the HDD. I now and two choices, either buy a PC or build it. Honestly it's not worth buying a new one because you pay for things that you dont need plus it isnt really the way you want it so I have decided to build one.

I'm not a total newb to building PC's BUT I havent done it in 4 years so I suck at it now Sad

I'm a gamer however not a hardcore as some. I want to do a gamer PC though. Also I do a lot of storage though, games, programs, movies, music.

So it looks like I need:
- Mobo - OC capable, dual core, either Intel orAMD whichever is better to OC and easier
- CPU - No prefference in AMD or Intel, whichever is easier to OC and is faster.
- RAM
- Video Card - dual capable, kinda of leaning towards NV since I've always had problems with ATI
- Power supply - 500W

Wanna spend about 1 grand

Anything I'm missing?

I dont need, HDD or monitor or any keyboard or mice. I just need a mobo, power supply, video card and ram

Here are a few of the stuff that I like but I'm not sure if they are good.
Case -
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811144151 - this is something I was leaning towards. It has nice looking case plus lots of fans for cooling.

I really appriciate it everyone!

Thanks
Reggie

skyguy

Distinguished
Aug 14, 2006
A few quick requests/advice:

-You need to give a budget. Everything comes down to the budget....that determines what you get and what you don't.
-How "futureproof-ish" do you want this? Do you plan on running Windows Vista when it comes out?
-Games. You state you don't need cutting edge power and don't play much things very intensive......well, Quake 4 really isn't that demanding compared to other games out there now. So.........that means you don't need 2 graphics cards, it's a waste of time and money.
-I highly doubt you'd need water cooling. 99.9% sure you won't need it.