Sign in with
Your question

confusing conroe questions ?

Last response: in CPUs
October 30, 2006 4:55:53 PM

hi , i am a noob to overclocking but not to pc's , am thinking of wedging into the conroe 6600 and have a couple of questions.....

bought a hiper type-r 580w psu with a 4pin 12v , is it possible to plug this into 4 of the 8pins on the new motherboards????

(some places say yes , some say no)

am thinking of buying a gigabyte ds3 or dq6

most important question is that i want to overclock but not aggressively, wish to jack up the FSB to 333 to run the 6600 @ 3ghz,my current thinking is that i can buy 2 sticks of ddr2-667 and run it @ 333 FSB so the 6600 hits 3ghz , am i right???????

am also unsure of the weight limit on coolers so was hoping the stock cooler could do it (maybe with some arctic silver) failing that i would go for one of those zalman flower type fans that blow air over the mosfets too, but heard if you move your pc around it could do damage , any thought??????

thanks for any help received.....
October 30, 2006 5:17:09 PM

Hmmmm... I wouldn't plug in the 4 pins into the 8 pins, although I don't think the mobo's your looking at requires 8 pins anyways.

I would also recommend the P5B-E over the DS3:

http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2860

DQ6... meh, if you really want crossfire...

Decent DDR2 667 will also do fine:

http://www.anandtech.com/memory/showdoc.aspx?i=2862&p=2

Here are some decent value rams that perform well. Or you could always pay a bit more and get brand name: Corsair, Mushkin, OCZ, G. Skill, yadda yadda. They should all be able to get past 333 without a problem.

Stock cooler should be fine if you only doing a modest OC. But tells us how your case is and we can double check that.
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
October 30, 2006 6:25:37 PM

Your OC calculation are good.
The stock cooler should do fine.