AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-56 (1.8Ghz) CPU...same as P4 3.2Ghz?

mojo77uk

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2004
I need a laptop that gives me equal/better performance than my current desktop PC:

My Desktop PC: Intel P4 3.2Ghz 800FSB, 2GB DDR 400Mhz, 128MB Ati X300, 200GB 7200rpm

This is the laptop I am thinking of buying (HP dv9030ea) to replace above mentioned PC:

http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/uk/en/ho/WF06a/21675-38187-38191-38191-38191-12435946.html

This laptop has a AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-56 (1.8Ghz)

Is this BETTER than my 3.2GHz Pentium 4 800FSB CPU??

Am I going to get a better performance with the laptop?

I've looked at benchmark comparisons with the AMD Turion X2 and other Intel Duo Core CPU's, but there aren't any benchmark tests with the Intel Pentium 4 3.2Ghz.

Can someone give me a rough idea if I'm going to get roughly the same performance?

I need a laptop that I can use for 3D Modelling and rendering (CAD work).

diplomat696

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2004
I am not an expert but I would think you would get far better performance with a dual core AMD than a single core P4. One of my friends recently switched over from a P4 to a dual core AMD and has been preaching dual core ever since so I would bet it would be better.

Laptop vs Desktop is a different story, i would think if u have the same components in a laptop as a desktop that you would get the same performance so that to me is a non-issue.

Not sure if Intel Dual Core would be better for CAD than an AMD though, you might want to look at some reviews to see what is better of an intel dual core and an amd dual core at handling graphihcs rendering.

To me when you say you cant find a comparison of P4 and AMD Dual core you really arent comparing apples to apples so if I was you and I was looking to buy a new comp I would compare new Intel Dual Core processors to Dual Core AMDs.