Sign in with
Your question

Preparing to OC my 6600: High Temp at Stock?

Last response: in Overclocking
November 3, 2006 6:00:05 PM

Hello. I became interested in overclocking my 6600 and as such did a bit of research on the subject (mostly around these forums). However, one thing is troubling me a little bit.

Using CoreTemp, my CPU is 42C idle and up to 60C on load. This is at stock. This seems to be a lot higher than what other people are posting. I am using the stock HSF, are these temps normal? Is it OK for me to go ahead and try overclocking, or should I be more careful as I might reach the temperature threshold faster than normal?

I appreciate any responses, this is my first time overclocking and I don't want to screw it up!
a b K Overclocking
November 3, 2006 6:57:14 PM

what are you measuring that temp with.
November 3, 2006 7:01:07 PM

Those temps sound close to normal to me with the stock HSF and any speed reduction features turned off. Seems that the general concenes is that 85 C in CoreTemp is the upper limit for C2D. Check it in the BIOS or with the Gigabyte EasyTuner software and you'll see lower numbers.
Related resources
November 3, 2006 7:21:35 PM

Quote:
what are you measuring that temp with.

CoreTemp.

Quote:
Those temps sound close to normal to me with the stock HSF and any speed reduction features turned off. Seems that the general concenes is that 85 C in CoreTemp is the upper limit for C2D. Check it in the BIOS or with the Gigabyte EasyTuner software and you'll see lower numbers.

Alright, thanks. I heard people saying that temps in the 70+ Range are what you want to avoid, is that in the BIOS or is that the reading I would get from CoreTemp? If its the BIOS one, what temp should I use as my safe(!) overclock limit as given from CoreTemp?
a b K Overclocking
November 3, 2006 7:35:55 PM

not knowing youfull setup with airfllow etc. I'd say it was a bit warm.