Sign in with
Your question

Has my old Prescott 2.8 ghz some juice left?

Last response: in Overclocking
November 4, 2006 3:23:43 PM

Hello everyone!

I am about to begin my first serious overclocking/upgrade project, but first of all I think I need some advice to take the right decision.

My rig is a Pentium 4 (Prescott 533FSB) @ 2.8 ghz, no HT socket 478 with 384 mb of DDR RAM (128 + 256kingston ValuRam) PC2100 and a PCCHIPS M909 MoBo (I know it´s an awful MoBo :oops:  , that's why i'm thinking in the upgrade). I have a GeForce FX 5950 Ultra from PNY and a lame 280 WATT OEM PSU.

Since i have no experience in overclocking (other than smaller OC on my office garbage PC's) any comment will be thanked, specially if you can refer me to an overclocking guide!

I recently read in the 4Ghz CPU project about the importance of high multiplier values for a successful overclocking so i ran cpu-z on my pc and found that my CPU has a multiplier value of 21x!!! :lol: 

If you think i need to post any more info to help me out please tell me so i can update the post.
November 5, 2006 1:33:27 AM

for just an overclocking experiment, looks like all you need is faster ram (you will likely hit the wall with multipliers on DDR2100), a better PSU (something in the 450 watt range should be more then enough), and a hell of alot of cooling. otherwise post what you get, should be interesting. and 21x is a good multiplier to be able to mess with.
November 5, 2006 3:55:51 AM

Thanks for your comments, i'll like to add some more info 'bout my system:
According to cpu-z, i'm running at 1.2 v and have this timings on my memory 2.5,3,3,7, DRAM idle Timer 16 clocks and FSB:D RAM 1:1.

Now i know i must change the MoBo, for the frecuency modifier is locked and i can't change anything, any suggestions on MoBos will surely be wellcome. About the cooling im planning to use a JET 4 ICB-V83 Cooler Master HSF and i'm thinking about buying a KMEX PZ650/24/P PSU, has anyone heard of it :? ?