cheapest computer to play WoW

ZaronY

Distinguished
Nov 5, 2006
I wasn't sure if this'd go in the hardware or games section, but it seems more hardware so I'll ask here, I'm trying to make the cheapest computer possible that could run world of warcraft reasonably well, here's what I have so far:

Athlon 64 3000+ and Biostar NF325-A7 mobo combo- $90
WINTEC AMPO 512 mb ddr2 400 mhz sdram- $45
linkworld case with 430W power supply/3 fans- $25
Mad Dog DVD burner/reader- $27
Keyboard and mouse combo- $7
Western Digital 40 gb hard drive- $40

Total= $234

I am by no means an expert so I would appreciate any critiques, either that this is too cheap to play WoW, or that you could go cheaper. My goal is to get the cheapest possible for playing WoW smoothly and feel free to completely rewrite this build.

Runescaper

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2006
Gold farmer eh? :p

You're gonna massproduce 'em and set up a chinese sweatshop? xD

Anyways, onboard graphics isn't a good idea, and what do you need the dvd drive for? - cd will do fine.

ZaronY

Distinguished
Nov 5, 2006
actually you're right on with the gold farmer but bots don't sweat, and yeah I was thinking about removing the dvd drive, I always add that in by reflex I think. Wouldn't onboard video be enoguh for WoW though? it's not a high end application or anything and the recommended is only 64 mb video ram

boduke

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2006
actually you're right on with the gold farmer but bots don't sweat, and yeah I was thinking about removing the dvd drive, I always add that in by reflex I think. Wouldn't onboard video be enoguh for WoW though? it's not a high end application or anything and the recommended is only 64 mb video ram

You'll probably get a bout 20fps on the lowest settings with that and forget raiding. I have a C2D and a 7600GT and in 40 man raids I get about 30-35FPS as long as there's no intense fighting and it drops to about 25 or so if we're in it pretty heavy. I wouldn't recommend it...