Firewind

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2006
I am new at building computers. I recently built my own, but there are some problems with the memory which I do not like.

I bought myself some CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory and an Asus P5W DH Deluxe after reading the reviews on Newegg.

I fired up the computer, and it ran fine, quite well even. But after I checked out the settings, I found that the memory was running at DDR2 667 5-5-5-18. This wasn't what I paid for. So I attempted to fix the problem by manually setting the memory to DDR2 800 with 4-4-4-12 clock speed and the recommended 2.1v.

After I did this, the system grew quite unstable. It took me 30s-2 minutes to open some basic applications (like ATI Catalyst, CPU Z, Wordpad) and the system would sometimes crash as well. Since the only thing I altered was the memory, I deduced that it is probably the memory causing the issues. I did download the memory to DDR2 711 at 1.9v, but I do not feel comfortable doing this as a novice.

Do I have bad memory, or am I possibly doing something wrong?

Here are the rest of my specs

Core 2 Duo E6700
Antec True Power Trio TP3-650 ATX12V 650W Power Supply with Three 12V Rails
ATI 1900 XTX Crossfire
ATI 1900 XTX
WD 250GB 7200 RPM HardDrive
Xi-Fi Fatal1ty sound card
Antec Superlanboy case

I am asking this for a couple of reasons. One, is that I ned to know whether to replace the ram, or alter a setting to correct the poor performance.