eatinpaper

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2006
I have never built a system before today. I put the parts together, did everything computer building manuals told me to, and the computer didn't turn on. I have no prior experience in building computers aside from installing a power supply, ram, and a graphics card. If anybody has any ideas as to why my computer won't turn on, that would be very helpful.
Here are my specs:
Core 2 Duo E6400 Processor
Gigabyte DS3 Motherboard
Scythe Infinty Cooler
7200.10 Seagate 250 Gb Hdd
7950 GT KO EVGA Graphics card
Antec True Power 550 PSU
Lian-Li 65-A Case

You didn't list any memory but I'm assuming you did put some in it right?

When you say it won't start does that mean when you push the power button absolutely nothing happens?

You have hooked up the front panel connection wires to the motherboard?

Check all connections and make sure additional power supply motherboard connections are made.

eatinpaper

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2006
My bad, I have 2x512 mb dimms corsair 800 mhz ram
And I do think I put in all of the front pannel connections. I am just not sure if I put them in the right place. The psu connections are fine. And yes I press the button and nothing happens at all.

waylander

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2004
is it a new psu? you can test it alone by shorting out the green wire with any black one on the main motherboard connector (make sure a hdd and the optical drive are connected for power, remove the motherboard and video card power connectors to be safe) or short out the two pins that the case power wires connect to on the motherboard.

eatinpaper

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2006
I'm pretty sure that it's not the psu because I think that when I turn on the psu I think I hear a slight humm when I turn it on. But I still might want to try what you said but I'm not familiar with the different colored wires. All I am really familiar with is what psu wire goes to what.

eatinpaper

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2006