realm249

Distinguished
Nov 7, 2006
I have a client that has a computer that is having problems. I have eliminated as many things as possible and I now need to troubleshoot the processor. She has a dell dimension 4400 with a 1.7ghz pentium processor in it.

I have two questions:

1. Can I test if it is the processor by using a spare 2.6ghz celeron processor that is socket 478 or does it need to be a pentium?

2. One of the bios updates that was done to the pc stated that it provided support for up to 4ghz peocesors. does this mean that I could take a 3.4ghz p4 socket 478 with hyperthreading and throw it in there with no problem?

Sorry if these are simple/silly questions. I'm new to playing with processors.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

-Andy-

1Tanker

Splendid
Apr 28, 2006
I have a client that has a computer that is having problems. I have eliminated as many things as possible and I now need to troubleshoot the processor. She has a dell dimension 4400 with a 1.7ghz pentium processor in it.

I have two questions:

1. Can I test if it is the processor by using a spare 2.6ghz celeron processor that is socket 478 or does it need to be a pentium?

2. One of the bios updates that was done to the pc stated that it provided support for up to 4ghz peocesors. does this mean that I could take a 3.4ghz p4 socket 478 with hyperthreading and throw it in there with no problem?

Sorry if these are simple/silly questions. I'm new to playing with processors.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

-Andy-