Overclocking notebook CPU on Apple

Square_Head

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2006
I have a question regarding the intel CPUs on the new apple MacBooks. I just bought a new mac laptops *gasp* because of the ability to run windows and OSX on the same machine. Is there a way to overclock the CPU? What are some of the standard mac options that people use to tweak their system. I'm completely new to this apple idea so I could use all the help. Are there any websites that are awesome and have tips and tricks? I know Tom's Hardware is awesome for Windows users, but how aobut the mac people? Or the mac people running windows? Those are the people that I want to get in contact with the most. Thanks for you help.

WR

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2006
In general, notebook and server motherboards do not permit overclocking without physically modifying the board connections. The reason notebooks don't allow this is that an overheating CPU can damage so many other system components.

3lfk1ng

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2006
Hello Square_Head, great question.

First of all....
Badnews: My gf has the 13" 2.0ghz Intel core duo Macbook and has had nothing but troubles with it (we will discuss more on this in a littel bit).

Also...
Unfortunately no matter how much I have tried to like Mac's over the course of the last year....I can't, so I'll attempt to be as unbiased as possible but still provide you with what I have experienced in the last 6 months with Apple.

Some of this stuff you may not wanna read if you refuse to belive that your new mac may have issues. I'm just providing some education (or bringing some light onto the subject) on the brief history of mac issues that I have experienced in the last 6 months

Here is the story of our history with the Macbook....
She bought it when it first came out and like many new products it has its flaws(but even after replacing the mobo 2 times, and then 1 time to a revised more current version it still has its issues).

The issues....