E6600 and E6700 - whats the diff. other than clock speed

AKJ

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2006
Does anyone know what the underlying differences are between the E6600 and the E6700? OK, so we all know the clock speeds are different.

Could it be the same darn chip, but with the E6700 using 266 * 10 settings VS E6600 using 266 * 9 settings?

Im a noob, so be nice plz :)

losergamer04

Distinguished
Mar 10, 2006
You are right. The only difference with the X6800 is the multiplier can be changed up from the stock 11. This allows you to overclock with out raising the FSB, but it still voids the warranty.
Another thing to know is that they decide what to make the processor after they do a burn in and test the chip. When they mass produce the chips, some naturally preform better and can reach higher clock speeds. Those are your higher, faster chips. If they are using the same die in a server processor, they will take the best and use the chips for those as well.
As a note, the E6300 and E6400 have a 2MB cache and the E6600, E6700, and X6800 have 4MB cache.

AKJ

Distinguished
Sep 15, 2006
True, but what if its actually the same CPU, just clocked differently. We'd never really know hey..

Coz im thinking its cheaper for Intel to mass produce one chip, then clock them differently and give them different names.

Makes you wonder, doesnt it?

True, but what if its actually the same CPU, just clocked differently. We'd never really know hey..

Coz im thinking its cheaper for Intel to mass produce one chip, then clock them differently and give them different names.

Thats what he said, they are the same chip.

But... when they are tested they are divided into categories based on performance (they are all slightly different, usig more or less power than each other, and potentially having all or some of the cache working) these categories become the products. You'll find that E6700's typically have a slightly lower voltage than an E6600 and so would run cooler at the higher clocks.