First time builder--Noob questions inside

edmore4

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2006
Hi, thx for looking at this post I appreciate it.
As the subject states this is my first build and have a few questions for you professionals.

So far I have ordered for my build.

Conroe 2 Duo 6300
OCZ GameXstream 700 watt power supply
X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro soundcard
Western Digital Raptor 150 gb
Cooler Master CM Stacker t01-ubk

Im going to buy a Evga 680i motherboard and its going to fit in my case thats on the way.
http://www.systemcooling.com/cm_stacker-01.html

So for my system i'm going to have a Western digitial raptor hard drive and Two DVD/cd drives

So anyway to my first question I need to know where the Sata and IDE cables hook up to the motherboard on this picture.
680i.jpg

becasuse when my case arrives in 5-7 days I would like to measure the inside so I can buy some rounded cables from Newegg.com when I purchase my motherboard.

as far as I know I only need
1 sata rounded cable (hard drive)
2 IDE rounded cables (DVD Burners)
any other cables you think I need please list them and where they attach so that I can measure for length before I order them.

My second question is does it matter what brand of memmory I get for the 680i?

My last question is what kind of heatsink / fan should I get for this I have heard alot about the Tuniq tower and Theralright ultra 120 but they seem to be out of stock at Newegg.com, So any help in this area would be appreciated. (after I get the comp running I am going to maybe overclock just depends on how much of a headache this turns out. :))

After my case arrives in a few days I'm going to finish my order at Newegg. So far this is what I plan on buying + whatever you all recommend.

Evga 680i motherboard
800 DDR2 memmory (Brand ?? )
7900 GT video card (wanted GTO but they have disappeared)
2--dvd/CD burners (havent decided on a brand)
heatsink / fan (no idea what kind)
1- Sata rounded cable
2- IDE cables