tecnique

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2006
I'm brand new to computers other than letting Dell do for me! I have a ton of questions but am learing much just from reading forums and THG. Most things I read say something about testing your system for stabilit. Is this just refering to whether or not you see smoke and shock yourself into a coma? Or is there some program (in bios or other) that gives you a %.

Thanks

EDIT:: I should say all I am planning on doing is backing some DDR2-800 down a little to match my FSB... which I assume is what I am supposed to do... so I shouldn't have much stability issues. Just fishing for info.

tool_462

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2006
Here are the programs that most experienced users use (there are others, these are just common and easy to use):

Memory Stability:
Memtest 86+
Follow directions on the website. Come here with issues.

Overall Stability:
Prime95
Good to run an instance on each core if you have a dual core CPU. Directions on the page.

Video Stability:
3DMark06

Pompeii

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
Ouch......that hurt. Anyway, back on topic.

First and foremost, there is no reason to back down on your ram, just leave it as it is. You will not be slowing down your system, so don't worry about it.

To test your computer for stability, you can use these programs:

Prime95
MemTest86+

If you want to make sure that your system will be 100% rock stable, run Prime95 overnight(or for 24 hours if you have the time). If it pops up any errors, you most likely have a hardware problem, and investigate further.

If you want to test your memory, and make sure it isn't defective in any sense of the word, run a test using MemTest86+. Keep in mind, it works most effectively when used on a start up disk.

If you want to benchmark your computer, use these programs:

3DMark2001SE
3DMark2005
3DMark2006
SuperPi

If you have any more questions, the forum is here for you.

sirheck

Splendid
Feb 24, 2006
Ouch......that hurt. Anyway, back on topic.