Onboard vs PCI

Tags:
  • Sound Cards
  • Audio
  • Components
Last response: in Components
November 11, 2006 2:46:14 AM

Hello,

When it comes to audio cards, I'm a noob, I never really needed to have anything else but onboard audio, but I'm thinking about it now.

The thing is, I really don't want (or can't) spend much money on this, so it's either a low budget audio card or stay with onboard. The reason: games, "TESIV Oblivion" actually (damn machine destroyer)

My motherboard is a MSI K9N Platinum which comes with a Realtek ALC883 8 channels chip. So the question is, regarding performance on games:

Would a "Creative Sound Blaster SB0570 Audigy SE 7.1" be better than my actual onboard audio?? would the processor load (AMD X2 4200 AM2) drop at all by installing a PCI audio card? (remember no Xi-Fi please, no money T_T)

I would appreciate your opinions. Thank you.

More about : onboard pci

November 11, 2006 3:18:35 AM

Well I like to listen to music, at the moment I have an auidigy 2, but want an xfi due to the mp3's sounding a lot better - can anyone tell me if mp3's do sound better?
November 12, 2006 2:21:49 AM

Ideas? anyone? :( 
November 12, 2006 3:20:33 AM

It really depends. If, in a game that supports them, you turn on all sorts of sound options, then yes, having a sound card will make a difference. Also, get at least an Audigy 2, the X-Fi is unnecessary, though nice if you can afford it, but if you're going to shell out the money for a sound card, I recommend an Audigy 2 (or equivalent card from another manufacturer).
November 12, 2006 3:35:21 AM

Any decent sound card will tend to have cleaner analog output- but that's not what you asked about.

For your purpose, a sound card will be such a minor change that it's not worthwhile. You'll have to upgrade video then CPU to get any significant gain.
November 13, 2006 8:23:41 AM

Quote:
Hello,