Weird CPU or memory problem

damage_inc

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2006
I'm a bit of a noob to all this so I apologise in advance if this is a simple thing to resolve.

I have a DELL Dimension 8400 with a 3ghz Intel CPU. I recently noticed that a couple of recent games would run occasionally in slow mo. And I mean slow mo and NOT bad FPS. The two worst were The Sims 2 and GTR2. Frame rates were ok, it's just that everything moved really slowly. If I rebooted everything returned to normal. Whilst investigating this problem I realised that my system properties reported a different speed everytime I boot. Usually just below 4 ghz, sometimes as high as 11 and 17 ghz was reported! I tested the higher values and it coincided with the slow mo performance. I've contacted Dell support and received pretty much useless help (stock suggestions like driver updates etc, which I have done anyway). I've enclosed images of my System properties over several reboots, is the highlighted speed that of my CPU? If so, why is it higher than 3ghz? And why is it showing a different speed from one boot to the next? I would be extremely grateful if someone could shed some light on my problem.

clockspeed2yq4.jpg

clockspeed1da5.jpg

11ghzgb4.jpg

clockspeed3ea5.jpg

djplanet

Distinguished
Aug 27, 2006
WHAAAAAA???? 8O
Seems like a BIOS or Windows issue, definitely something to call Dell about.

Edit: Scratch that, didn't read at first you already called them, sorry. Bump this thread if it gets too far down. I find it intriguing. Hopefully someone with more expertise will shed some light on this.

orsino

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2006