yay, my one and only build >.<

rainy

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2004
building my very first system. i've been using this dell 8200 for about 5 years or so and i'm just realizing now that i have an outdated system. i spend a good amount of time on the computer, so why not go out and splurge a lil. i'm pretty much new to all of this and have been trolling the forums for a while now, which might i add is full of useful info as well as great members! plan is to make a pretty good gaming rig. i play mmorpg and fps games. also, going to overclock a bit. don't really have a budget, just don't wanna spent a crazy amount. let's keep it under 2k. listed the parts below along with some colorful commentary. all tips, advice, and comments welcome. thanks!

* case: antec nine hundred
looks are subjective, but this case grew on me the more i saw it. cooling on it seems great and i got it for a steal at $100.

* mobo:
eVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR Socket T (LGA 775) NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard
i'm not sure which motherboard to go with. i know tons of people have gone with the p5w and have been successful with it, but i've read a few great reviews of the evga nforce 680i and it's great ability to overclock. the price different isn't much so i'm confused on this one. also wanting to go evga 8800gtx graphics card later, so i'd be nice to match mobo with gpu. i like to coordinate. which mobo should i go with? :O k ended up buying the evga nforce 680i.

* cpu: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M sharing L2 Cache LGA 775

* cooling: ZALMAN 9700 LED 110mm 2 Ball Blue LED Light CPU Cooler
i know everyone rates the scythe brands better, but this thing is soooo sexy. can't resist it! not sure if it'll fit the evga n680i board though. :'(

* gpu: PNY VCG7900SXPB GeForce 7900GS 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card