Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Opinions on USB CD/DVD Drive "Emulator" device

Last response: in Opinions and Experiences
March 5, 2009 10:04:49 AM

Hi tom's hardware forum peoples! I'm an electrical engineer working on a design I'd like to bring to market. Before I actually prototype the device, though, I'd like to see how much interest there is in such a thing, or if anyone has suggestions for changes / add-ons. Thanks very much for any feedback!!

The device I'm working on is a small USB stick which would have a microSD card slot and be used to "emulate" CD/DVD/Floppy drives. The idea is you keep a bunch of ISOs or IMGs on the microSD card, and then using either a program on the PC, or booting from the stick itself into a "chooser" screen, you pick an ISO/IMG file from the card to emulate, and the device will, from then on, show up as a Mass Storage device *and* a CD/DVD/Floppy drive containing the disc whose image you selected.

You could of course change the selected image at any time by booting back into the "chooser" mode, or running the software on a working computer. The functionality would be very similar to those new flash drives that also have a CDROM portion that shows up so they can (annoyingly, in my opinion) take advantage of AutoRun. The difference, of course, being that you can choose any ISO on the microSD card to be "in" the CD/DVD/Floppy drive, and you can pick that at boot time in case you're not near a working machine (for example, doing a reload at a customer's location).