Discussion Need Advice on buying a MacBook Pro

Status
Not open for further replies.

rjackowens

Honorable
Jul 27, 2012
I am a freshman in College. I am looking for a laptop to replace my 2008 MacBook Air. I really like Apple computers, and am not considering a Windows laptop. I am interested in getting a MacBook Pro which should give me a speed upgrade from my old MacBook Air. I want something that will last me a couple years without becoming obsolete. The computer in mind is a 2009 unibody MacBook Pro 2.4GHz with 2GB RAM. I know it's old, but it's an Apple and it probably is better than my Air. Can anybody give me advice if buying this computer is a good idea, or maybe looking for something else is a bit wiser?

Thanks guys in advance!

The best advice on buying a mac, especially for a college student. who needs to use real software. Because its school. or needs to save money. Because its school. Is......drum roll please....

DON'T!

I can't even imagine spending money on a laptop with 2GB of memory, considering how cheap memory is. Never mind on a 3 yearold laptop, that is only one year newer than your current. The OS limits are horrible but why pile on hardware that was outdated when the laptop was released?

xXmjzXx

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2012
Of course everyone is gonna tell you not to on here cause its a mac.. But i mean if you are taking class's were you work on music or something like that. I would go with the mac all day, it comes with all the software you are gonna need for school. That is just me i would go mac for school and only school.

rjackowens

Honorable
Jul 27, 2012

I agree Macs can be overpriced, but I still don't think I can find a quality laptop with good specs in my price range. There isn't many laptops that aren't cheaply built under $500. Even an older MacBook should last longer than a cheap PC.

bliq

Distinguished