Sign in with
Your question

Hardware/Router Firewall Question?

Last response: in Networking
September 18, 2003 7:26:10 PM

What's the best brand/type of hardware firewall - I've been told to use a router, but I'm new to this networking stuff. I have Road runner. Is a hardware firewall better than a software (Zone Alarm) firewall?

Thanks.

<b><font color=blue>"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety" - Bejamin Franklin</font color=blue><b>
September 19, 2003 5:24:12 PM

I have Zone Alarm Pro - is that enough. Should I add hardware firewall at all?

<b><font color=red> “Liberals have many tails and chase them all.” – H.L. Mencken </font color=red><b>
September 21, 2003 6:53:07 AM

the hardwarefirewall is maybe abit more efficient cause it won`t use any resources on your puter nor will it spam your screen with warnings. the trouble with hardwarefirewalls can be that they are not that easy to setup, but they require abit of understanding of networking whereas the software firewall is rather easy to setup. any firewall is as good or as bad as other (of course some are worse, hehe) it is all about understanding how it works and how threats come in from the network you are connected to. But in the end a firewall is just a "filter" either allowing all traffic or blocking it to one port or the other, which can be quiet annoying since you need some ports for this or that, but exactly these ports might be very vulnerable to attacks.

Beat the heat with the USB-Powered Fan :wink: <P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by TomaHawK on 09/21/03 09:07 AM.</EM></FONT></P>
Related resources
September 21, 2003 5:06:24 PM

What's the best & easiest hardware firewall (router) to use. If it has a "default" firewall setting, I'll just use that - trying to keep up with all the "ports" is impossible for me - I just want to block the major ports used by hackers.