Over clocking on DS3 with E6700

Major_Spittle

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2006
I am wondering if someone could give me Ideas for the best way to OC this set-up to get best performance.

Gigabyte DS3
Corsair XMS2 800 6400C4
E6700 (ES)
Jungle512 Heat Sink :oops:
BFG 7600GT

Currently stable with these settings- Mem 5-5-5-15 2.2V
FSB @ 400 with 8X Cpu Mult (3.2 GHZ) and 2.5 mem Multiplier thingy :roll: (1000mhz Mem. clock) FSB=1600

NB +.1V
FSB +.1V
CPU 1.35V

System temp 40/44 and CPU temp 40/55 (idle/Max Load)

I am new to all of this, are there benifits to using 1:1 for Mem. Mult.? What will help most, FSB frequency or Memory frequency or a 100-200 more hz of cpu frequency

rwaritsdario

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2006
E6700 (ES)
Jungle512 Heat Sink
*dr00ls over the ES*
Could you link that HSF for me?

Considering your safe temps youve got plenty of headroom for voltages.
1.4vCORE, give NB +0.2 and FSB just another notch.
Keep 1:1 ratio at all times since the tradeoff isnt worth it for higher frecuncies.

Post your scores.

rwaritsdario

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2006
Have you tried upping the voltages and getting higher speeds yet?
Considering your HSF, use CoreTemp and TAT to monitor your temps, they should stay under 75c at all times.

Major_Spittle

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2006
I think I am gonna wait until I can get a Sunon Waturbo liquid Heatsink and then I will mess with it. I got it up too 3.6 @1.45volts and it didn't get too hot, but I don't want to burn up the processor running it like that constantly. I have only gone +.1 for the FSB and MCH so far too. It will do a 1800+ fsb with only +.1 on FSB and Chipset. It astonishes me how stable the DS3 is, I just don't want to destroy it when I don't need the extra speed now. Maybe when Cysis comes out and I get a new HS for the CPU and Chipset I will start getting aggressive with the voltages. Seeing what the 6700 can do makes me proud to think it is a product of the fab I work in.

Major_Spittle

Distinguished
Nov 17, 2006