Well I finally have all the pieces of the puzzle: :D 

- Thermaltake Armor Case
- Thermaltake ToughPower 750W ATX PSU + PFC/EPS
- Intel Core2Duo Extreme X6800 2.93Ghz 4M 1066FSB
- Intel D975XBXLKR Socket 775 Motherboard
- (2) Seagate 320GB Serial ATA HD 7200/16MB/SATA-3G
- (2) Seagate 250GB Serial ATA w/NCQ 7200/16MB/SATA-3G
- ATI Radeon X1950XTX 512MB GDDR4 PCI Express x16 CrossFire Video
- Corsair TWINX 2048MB PC5400 DDR2 667MHz (2x1024)
- Plextor PX-716AL Slot-Loading 16x DVD Burner
- Lite-on Black 52xCDRW/16x DVD Combo Drive
- SAMSUNG 244t-BK Black 24" 6ms (GTG) Widescreen LCD Monitor

I am ready to give it power for the first time, but have some questions seeing it is my first build.

1. Do I just turn it on when I have everything installed?
2. I have 2 320gb and 2 250gb hard drives, since I bought two and the wife bought me two not knowing I already had them. How would you suggest I use them? Raid, no raid, etc?
3. How do I install the Operating System, XP Home?
4. What else do I need to know or look out for?

More about : 1st build ready power

November 17, 2006 3:42:37 AM

How would you suggest I setup my hard drives?
November 18, 2006 3:34:20 AM

When I power up for the first time, what steps should everything be done in? Installing OS, setting up drives, formatting drives? What else am I missing?
Related resources
November 18, 2006 3:50:31 AM

I always get right into the bios to see if everything is recognized and running smoothly...ie fans and such.

Then if everything looks good i install os. Then drivers.
November 18, 2006 5:50:40 AM

Very nice rig. However, you wouldn't be doing yourself justice unless you properly configure what is by far, the slowest subsystem and worst bottleneck in todays fast computers...storage.