Best PCI graphics card

unrealdude24

Distinguished
Nov 19, 2006
I know almost all of you are laughing at me but i'm looking for a PCI graphics card. Unfortunately, my crappy VAIO doesn't have a AGP slot and there is no way a 5 year old computer has a PCI-E slot. I'm a student so I really don't want to buy a new computer or replace the whole motherboard AND get a AGP graphics card which would cost way to much.

Here are my specs:
Windows xp SP2
AMD 1.56ghz (not exactly sure what model CPU, possibly athlon +1800)
768 mb ram
Integrated 32mb graphics SIS 641(hence the reason i want a new graphics card)
Integrated sound

Any advice on which would be the best PCI graphics card? I attempted to search Google for top recent pci graphics card reviews but only PCIe reviews seem to pop up. I found one but it was back in 2003.

unrealdude24

Distinguished
Nov 19, 2006
It seems the ATI x1300 has higher frame rate then the GeForce 6200 according to the VGA chart. I might just get that. Thanks for all your input.

Understand one thing first of all.

The PCI bus will greatly reduce the performance of these cards. They will be nowhere near the results found in the VGA charts.

IMO get a new Mobo and cheap PCIe card, better option for gaming.

PCI card should only be used for 2D and AeroGlass 3D no serious 3D at all.

unrealdude24

Distinguished
Nov 19, 2006