HORRIBLE experience with Newegg

zenoli

Distinguished
Mar 27, 2009
I've just finished four days of hell, trying to order from Newegg. Newegg has made it clear that they don't want my money, so I think it's important to share this experience with others. This is a bit long, but I'm trying to capture the reasons for my frustration and ire.

First, my bona fides: I am a computer professional, working in IT security for a multinational corporation. I founded and organize a local Linux users' group. I make lots of purchases online from many different vendors. In short, I'm technically savvy, connected to the community, and deeply concerned about issues of security and privacy.

A number of months back, I made a purchase from Newegg as a test, some flash memory, as I recall. The purchase went fine, and I received the product in a timely fashion.

With the able advice of the Tom's Hardware forums, I've been putting together a new build. I started research back in February, and now (in May) I was ready to make the purchase. I purchased some of the items from my local Micro Center ($230 for an i7 920, what a great deal!) and placed an order for the rest with Newegg.

Based on the recommendations from these forums (and my own experience) I went into this purchase feeling a lot of excitement and a lot of goodwill for Newegg.

On Saturday evening, just before midnight, I tried to place the order. The order was placed using the information that Newegg had saved from my previous purchase...all I had to enter was the CVV code from my Visa. After completing their forms, though, I was redirected to "Verified by Visa". This is an incredibly stupid, poorly-conceived system that Visa is pushing whereby your order process is redirected to a completely different website, hosted at "verifiedbyvisa.com". This program is theoretically opt-in, but there is no way to escape from their screens.