PLEASE tell me if my P5WDH is well O/C

davroch

Distinguished
Nov 22, 2006
Hi,
I am david from jerusalem.
I am really new in O/C and before i fry my new PC I want to ask you guys what do you think of my settings ;)
My purpose is not to get scores in 3Dmark, I use my PC essentially for Flight simming and the new Microsoft FSX simulator needs some strong O/C as you probably know.
I just would like you to tell me if I didn't forget something or didn't do anything wrong.
All kind of help, advises or warnings are welcome.
Thanks in advance
David :cool:

My rig:
E6700 -2.66 GHz
Asus P5WDH
2 Gig Corsair PC5400C4 (yes I know PC800 could be better but I got them from my previous config)
XFX 7950 GX2

and here are my settings:

monkeybite

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2006
Looks good, you could try lowering ICH voltage a notch. Also, you should disable Hyper Path 3 and DRAM throttling for better stability and ram speed.

qw3r7yju4n

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2005
well rite now the ICH is your southbridge, unless your ocing your PCI-E then you dont need to buff that, uping your MCH is where the FSB sits, an extra notch there wont hurt, but you got it man

RichardJSampson

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2001
Hi David,

You and I have similar hardware and goals. My primary justification for OCing, beyond molecular modeling, is also FSX. I have an e6700, P5W DH, and I currently have an XFX GeForce 7950 GX2 -- but on Monday I'll have an 8800 GTX. Also, I do have 4gb of DDR 800 RAM, but I'm more interested success with speeding up the CPU

I just started OCing yesterday as the holidays have afforded me some extra time. I'm right where you are right now, at 300 x 11 = 3300. I'd be very interested in seeing how high you can get and what sort of performance improvements in FSX you'll see. There's no doubt that this is THE most demanding game on the planet so it would be interesting to see how someone with a similar rig is doing.

What sort of case do you have, and what is your cooling situation?