Connector for LED Thermometor on case?

johaness9

Distinguished
Nov 12, 2006
I just bought a case with a led thermometer on the front that has molex connectors(the 3 fans are also molex only). The foxconn mobo that I'm looking at
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813186102

has two 3 pin connectors for fans, so I will need to convert the molex into 3 pin?

Will I need a specific connector on the mobo for the thermometer in order to use the led thermo on the front? If so, what is this connector usually called? Or can I convert the molex of thermo to a 3 pin and connect it fan connectors?

Besides the cpu fan connector the mobo has SYS_Fan, FAN1, Com2(for serial com device?), and Front Panel connector(that has PRWLED, PRWSwitch, HDDLed, Reset, NC). Are anyone of these used for the led thermo? If not, is there a converter that can convert a molex led thermo to one of these?

This case didnt come with any instruction at all, and I am new to this.
Thanks for any info!

waylander

Distinguished
Nov 23, 2004
First of all, what case is it? Second, most thermometers use a thin wire which has a flat section at the end that you tape to a component for temperature readings, I taped mine to the underside of my water block right beside the cpu where it overhangs.

The fan connectors are just that, fan connectors, they read the rpms for fans (sometimes controls them as well). They are not temperature sensors.

elpresidente2075

Distinguished
May 29, 2006