Your question

Server 2003 Issues

Tags:
  • Windows Server 2003
  • Servers
  • Networking
Last response: in Networking
March 22, 2006 9:33:13 PM

I am fairly new to the Network Admin position and I need some help.
I am running Windows 2003 server and I am having trouble browsing the network while being logged into a work station as the administrator, which before I had no problem doing this before. And I can only see half of my network from the server. The other half of my network are off site locations and I cannot see them either unless I do a seach for them, and then I can see them.
I can ping the server, browser shared drives and the nodes are still talking to the server but the problem is just browsing the network.

I think that problem is that last Tuesday one of my NICs went out so I had to replace it, and I am wondering if I didn't set the NIC up correctly. Could this be the problem?

I have looked and looked for answers on the microsoft web site and have not found the correct answer.

Please help!!!

More about : server 2003 issues

March 23, 2006 2:35:51 PM

We'll need more info about your network setup.

Are you running a domain?
Can you describe your network layout better?
What is the role of your server?
What is your ISP connection?
What OS's are your workstations running?
Did you configure DNS?
All the info you can give without giving out your private info, should help us help you.
March 23, 2006 3:09:45 PM

I am running a Domain with two off site locations which each have their own domain controller. All my domain controllers are running Server 2003. The PDC is at my main site and it is running Server 2003 as well.

The off site locations are connected to each other thru a VWAN which is maintained by my ISP. My main location has a T1 and my other two sites have DSL lines.
All of my work stations are running XP Pro, which are configured with a static DNS.