Sign in with
Your question

Need help putting together a system!

Last response: in CPUs
November 23, 2006 1:59:11 PM

I would like to build a gaming system and need some help finalizing my parts list. Here is what I have so far. I could be completely wrong on some combo's as I have little to no experience in building a system. I am worried about compatibility issues. Let me know what you think. Here is what I have so far:

Thermaltake Armor Black Aluminum case
Antec NeoPower 550
AMD Athlon X2 4600 65w
ABIT Fatal1ty AN9 32X mobo
Sapphire Radeon X1950XTX
Western Digital Caviar SE 16 250 GB
Lite-On Black DVD Burner Retail
ASUS CD -ROM 48x
2 x 1 GB Stick (Not sure what brand to get)
Sony Floppy Drive (Black)

I appreciate any input on this matter.

More about : putting system

November 23, 2006 2:16:34 PM

first of all, wrong section, this section is for cpu discussion you want the general home build section.

but anyway...

nobody should even be thinking about getting a 1950xtx right now, there about the same price as a 8800gts, much better performance, dx10 support, its the only way to go right now if your looking to spend about $450 on a gfx card. and im sure everybody here will agree with that.

next, get a c2d instead, you'll see much better performance for about the same amount of money.

if you get a C2D then your obviously going to need to get a different mobo, the asus P5B deluxe is a good one.

you'll probably want to get a different psu, im not sure if that one will be able to handle a system with an 8800gts in it.

everything else looks good, il let somebody else point you the right way with the ram, and whats your budget?
November 23, 2006 2:21:05 PM

Quote:
nobody should even be thinking about getting a 1950xtx right now, there about the same price as a 8800gts,

So you're saying SLi is better than Crossfire?
Related resources
November 23, 2006 2:25:56 PM