Partition set up on HDD storage drive

Status
Not open for further replies.

gerry410

Distinguished
Jun 17, 2010
hi all, i just finished partitioning a hdd for the first time. It will be my storage drive (former boot Win7) drive complimenting a Corsair 115GB boot ssd. This is my first build, so please keep that in mind because I'm a noob.

f: 500GB for music, movie, pics and docs.
g: 230GB for installed programs and relocated windows folders. (Windows page files and user's folders)
h: the balance is unallocated at this time. Reserved for maybe umbutu/xp,etc.

1. Would it be better to install programs on f:, if so should I shrink it ?
2. Do you think the size of each is adequate?
3. Slould I install the Gpu drivers to the SSD?
4. Is is bad to keep changing and deleting volumes?
5. Should I partition the SSD boot in 2, one for OS 1 for games.

Please feel free to give any advise or cautions. I have read all the SSD articles at Tom's.
Please address the 4 questions.

Tanks guys.

Solution
Hi gerry,

How you partition your drives is a matter of choice, sometimes chance! The secondary files and storage files I'd put in a separate partition like you have done. I tend to put the OS, GPU, Program files, User profile on the 'system partition' C: The program files in Win-7 are normally stored in 'Program Files' if they are 64 bit, and 'Program Files 86' if they are 32 bit. Lots of programs, even very common ones are still 32 bit. Flash is a good example. Those are in the root directory just like the 'User' folder is. You can put the pagefile on a separate partition, and get additional speed by doing that, which is one of the choices in pagefile location. I wouldn't get carried away with unteen partitions, since you can just...

wonder44

Distinguished
Oct 27, 2010
Makesure windows and all drivers are on the same partition, having drivers on a diferent partition could cause problems. Windows must be on the same partition as all drivers.