Sign in with
Your question

need help please...kinda urgent

Last response: in Systems
November 24, 2006 2:02:09 AM

long story short. I build a new system, I kept changing thing to make it better/ faster ..............cliff notes on the bottom if you dont want to read it all.

I started out with

intel d975xbx mobo
pentium D 3.4ghx
4 gig ram
enermax liberty 600w PS
1900xt crossfire set up ( 2 cards )
2x 80gb in raid 0
500gb
dvd
dvd rw

I was bench marking lil under 9000 in 3dmark05. so after researching, reading and talking to others, that was CRAP for a score with my set up. they thought my CPU was bottle necking me. I also was having problems running crossfire on this board. so I traded them for a EVGA 79050 GX2 great card I like it, I read and was told it will bench better

so I go into 3dmark05, run another test with the new card...STILL under 9,000, so now im getting pissed

so ive been running it as is for the past 2 months...no complaints. so I finally ran into so extra cash, so I broke down and went out an got a intel core 2 duo 2.4ghz ( got it for a steal, 300 new )

so I install it HOPING to bring up my score.
this time I could BARELY touch 8500

now heres the kicker, I just did a FRESH format reinstall, I have ALL up to date drivers for EVERYTHING

my question to you guys...what could it be????? what could be wrong? from my knowledge, I could be hitting 13000 something on default 3dmark05 settings...or am I expecting to much?

cliff note:

intel d975xbx mobo
Intel core 2 duo 2.4ghz
4 gig ram
7950 GX2 ( 1gb card )
enermax liberty 600w PS
2x 80gb in raid 0
500gb
dvd
dvd rw

TIA
Scott

More about : kinda urgent

November 24, 2006 2:21:50 AM

ok...this is a bit too obvious and you've probably thought about it long ago...so just ignore me if its already been dismissed:

Have you very many programs running in the background, virus checkers etc? have you disabled non essential services and apps at boot up?