Last response: in Systems
November 26, 2006 2:28:51 AM

I was putting together my new pc.

I have the following

OCZ GameXStream 600w
Gigabyte S3
C2D 6300
Thermaltake Blue Orb II

I currently do not have the memory or v card. I will be ordering them this week. As I went to get something to drink, my brother plugged in the power supply and turned it on. Shortly after he said there was a burnt smell. Now this is my first time building a pc so I am not sure if I would need the memory installed in order for anything to work. So what do you think? Did he fry something? I fear he did and if so any clue what it was or do I have to wait until I have all my components to further investigate?

Thanks for your help.

In case you are wondering, I used the Artic Silver 5 compound on the cpu

More about : brother fry

November 26, 2006 2:42:05 AM

check your trans/res for any popping of the nodes any bubble effect or Oozing would be the first thing to look for
November 26, 2006 2:47:48 AM

What are trans/res? Do you mean the transistors or connectors on the cpu?
Related resources
November 26, 2006 2:55:02 AM

yes Transistors/Resistors
November 26, 2006 3:01:31 AM

Sorry but I don't understand why you would even have all of that out in the first place. It won't run without ram or video card so just leave it all in the boxs until you need them.

Like mentioned looked for bulging or black marks on your motherboard. I don't know how you could fry anything even if it was plugged in, the computer should have just refused to post. The only way you could have fried anything in the computer was to have bare contacts touching metal. Either that or the psu itself blew.
November 26, 2006 3:07:49 AM

Ok, I have checked the cpu and the cpu slot on the mobo. There doesnt seem to be any damage at all. Whew. Anything else that you can think of that would cause the smell. Well its good to know that nothing would start without the ram. Hmm, now I wonder if the psu blew. Any to tell?