core 2 duo - best motherboard NOT for overclocking

hello,

I'm looking for a really stable motherboard for a core 2 duo e6600.

I will not be overclocking it. Mainly I'm gonna be using this new computer (Digital Audio Workstation) for audio production -recording/mixing, etc.

Can anyone recommend me a very stable motherboard that has worked for your e6600?? something that wont give me problems and will be stable for years to come.

about budget, I would like to keep my Mobo budget no more than $150. (I've heard the intel D975xbx Mobo are stable but it is priced at $200).

I'm a newbie at building custom computers and any help is appreciated.

thanks.
21 answers Last reply
More about core motherboard overclocking
  1. Quote:
    hello,

I'm looking for a really stable motherboard for a core 2 duo e6600.

I will not be overclocking it. Mainly I'm gonna be using this new computer (Digital Audio Workstation) for audio production -recording/mixing, etc.

Can anyone recommend me a very stable motherboard that has worked for your e6600?? something that wont give me problems and will be stable for years to come.

about budget, I would like to keep my Mobo budget no more than $150. (I've heard the intel D975xbx Mobo are stable but it is priced at $200).

I'm a newbie at building custom computers and any help is appreciated.

thanks.

You don't need something such as a 975xbx, you'd be fine with an Asrock 945 model. In the UK you can get one for around £40 (around $70)! You should only be looking to purchase something as expensive as the 975xbx if you're into overclocking, which you stated you weren't.

Here's a good example of a nice cheap stable motherboard:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813157092

This one is priced at $57, and will do EVERYTHING you want it too do.