Please help - SLI Problem

Tags:
  • Nvidia
  • SLI
  • Motherboards
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 26, 2006 10:00:57 PM

I have two XFX 7600gt XXX's in SLI on an Asus A8N-SLI (Base model) Motherboard. I have been using this setup for probably six months, with excellent results, low 6100's in 3dmark 06, and no problems whatsoever.
Then, about a week ago, while playing a graphically taxing racing simulator, a bunch of bright blue splotches began flashing on my screen. They are not like typical artifacts...which look like bright various colored outlines around certain contours in the graphics...no its not like that at all...these are large areas of the screen covered in bright blue flashing patterns, or sometimes just horizontal bars flashing down the screen. I tried reinstalling two of the most recent Nvidia driver releases (84.xx and 93.xx), and the problem persisted. I tried checking each video card individually, by setting the mobo to single card mode, and starting up the machine with only one card installed. Both cards performed flawlessly, both getting very consistent high 3500's in 3dmark06, without any blue splotches. so now i am left wondering if there is maybe a problem with my nforce chipset, or the bridge connector that connects my two cards. or maybe there is something else on the mobo that could be causing this. anyways, all i am really confident in at this point is that both 7600gt's are functioning properly. Oh, and in case anyone is thinks any other components could be coming into play here, I have an Ultra Xconnect 550W SLI Rated P.S., an AMD X2 3800+ running at 2.5 ghz and 1.4v, 2048mb Corsair XMS pc3200 running at 416 mhz 2.5-3-3-6, two 320g seagate HD's, a Zalman CPU cooler, and three 120mm case fans on a controller. All overclocks on CPU and RAM have been set at that level and running completely stable for many months. Thanks in advance for any input.

More about : sli problem

November 26, 2006 10:07:27 PM