Advice on choosing system [pls help

crpcarrot

Distinguished
Nov 27, 2006
Hi i@m looking to but a new system and have founf to setups on awebsite my problem is i prefer to get the Intes C2D but the motherbaord provided with that system is not SLI. i'm no expert on this but i figure SLI will give an easy graphics upgrade option in the future.

the 2 systems specs re given below would appreciate any advice on which to choose.

personally i'm leaning towards the intel setup

and thanks for any adivice in advance

GA0601 M2N4-SLI - Gaming PC - AM2 Athlon X2 Dual-Core SLI
Processor: AMD64 Athlon X2 5000+ 1Mb cache AM2
Memory: 1.0GB DDR2 533mhz
Hard Disk Drive: 200GB S-ATA2 3.0Gb/s
Graphics card: NVidia GeForce 7950GT PCI-E 512MB DDR3 Dual DVI/TV
Case: Thermaltake Soprano
PSU: 550W EZCool PSU
£715

GL1001 965P-S3 - Gaming PC - Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2x2.13Ghz 2Mb cache 1066Mhz
£672

oh eys i'll be using this mainly for gaming but mostly srategy games no FPS or anythign like that also want to play oblivion

luckyblur

Distinguished
Nov 26, 2006
This is my current order thats on its way.

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13GHz - $219
ZALMAN 9700 LED - $45
GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 - $130
OCZ Platinum Revision 2 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel - $220
XFX GeForce 7900GT - $200
ZALMAN VF900 LED - $49
Western Digital Raptor 74GB - $140
Antec Performance I P180B Black - $75
Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC 430W - $24

This list has been changed a lot based off of several hours of reading forums and the help from a few nice people on these forums. I was told to go with the DS3 instead of the S3. It's like $20 more and is more stable due to its power components.

If you plan to overclock go for the higher PC6400 DDR2.

Oh and C2D > 64X2.

crpcarrot

Distinguished
Nov 27, 2006
i decided i dont need the SLI right now and went for the pentium but with an MFI 965 motherboard and a geforce 8800 instead.

thanks

1Tanker

Splendid
Apr 28, 2006