Help In Choosing OS

PEH

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2006
Like many others on this forum I am a noob to computer building and, of course, have questions. My computer is not yet built and is, if fact, enroute from NewEgg. My question however, has to do with the OS. As a preface I should state that this computer will be used primarily for gaming. My original plan was to wait for Vista to be released. However, after reading about driver problems, and other and various opinions on this forum, I am not sure if that is the best decision. In short, my question is - should I forgo Vista and install XP Pro and let microsoft work out the bugs before installing Vista?

Zorak

Distinguished
Mar 20, 2006
You pretty much hit the nail on the head, PEH. Like any good wine, vista will only get better with time (at least that is the hope :wink: ), so wait a while before you decide to install it.

zjohnr

Distinguished
Aug 19, 2006
In short, my question is - should I forgo Vista and install XP Pro and let microsoft work out the bugs before installing Vista?
Why XP Pro and not just XP Home??

Is this a Vista upgrade coupon concern or some other reason??

-john, the redundant legacy dinosaur

sailer

Splendid
Pretty much what the others said. I plan to migrate to Vista sometime in the spring, after it has been out a few months and the initial patches are out to swat the bugs.

Other than XP Pro, you might consider XP 64 Pro. Since its also a 64 bit OS, you can be loading the computer with various 64 bit programs, drivers, etc before making the switch. And who knows, someone may figure out how to port DX10 into it and you could have a 64 bit OS without having to pay the Vista premium. Just a thought, may not work.

sruane

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2006
ye, just go for xp although like others have said, why pro? not wanting to sound patronising but i hope it aint because you think dual cores won't work on it. remember, it is only for mulitple sockets that you need pro, not multiple cores.