Sign in with
Your question

Help In Choosing OS

Last response: in Systems
November 28, 2006 2:56:20 PM

Like many others on this forum I am a noob to computer building and, of course, have questions. My computer is not yet built and is, if fact, enroute from NewEgg. My question however, has to do with the OS. As a preface I should state that this computer will be used primarily for gaming. My original plan was to wait for Vista to be released. However, after reading about driver problems, and other and various opinions on this forum, I am not sure if that is the best decision. In short, my question is - should I forgo Vista and install XP Pro and let microsoft work out the bugs before installing Vista?

More about : choosing

November 28, 2006 3:08:39 PM

yeah, give vista some time, wait until the first service pack is out. It'll be alot more stable by then.
November 28, 2006 4:00:06 PM

You pretty much hit the nail on the head, PEH. Like any good wine, vista will only get better with time (at least that is the hope :wink: ), so wait a while before you decide to install it.
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
November 28, 2006 4:23:07 PM

In short, my answer is - yes.
November 28, 2006 4:53:59 PM

Quote:
In short, my question is - should I forgo Vista and install XP Pro and let microsoft work out the bugs before installing Vista?

Why XP Pro and not just XP Home??

Is this a Vista upgrade coupon concern or some other reason??

-john, the redundant legacy dinosaur
November 28, 2006 4:58:47 PM

Pretty much what the others said. I plan to migrate to Vista sometime in the spring, after it has been out a few months and the initial patches are out to swat the bugs.