Sign in with
Your question

HDD and CD burner on same IDE?

Last response: in Systems
November 29, 2006 1:51:44 PM

Maybe a dumb question, but I'm new to SATA builds.

The Gigabyte S3 only comes with 1 IDE connection. Can I connect both my old HDD and my cd burner on the same ribbon cable? If so, do I need to set the jumpers a certain way? Have a new SATA HDD coming, but I'd like to be able to use my old 80GB drive for extra storage.

Thanks!
BKJ

More about : hdd burner ide

November 29, 2006 2:30:45 PM

Should work fine.. although you may experiance some problems copying data from the ROM sevice to the IDE disk. Nay work, but will probably be pretty slow. Just make sure the jumper is not set to primary / boot device.
November 29, 2006 2:33:15 PM

Hi AMDThunder,
Sure, you can do that - but the theory is, you shouldn't burn from the harddisk that is on the same controller as the burner.
In a perfect world, the source harddisk and the burner would be on separate controllers. This is similar to having 2 harddisks on the one IDE controller (one master, one slave) where Windows is on the master - in this situation moving the Windows swapfile to the second harddisk will offer no performance benefit at all.
However if you have 2 harddisks, each on its own controller, there is a benefit to moving the swapfile because then Windows can access its programs, and read/write to the swapfile, simultaneously.
So you see, anything on that single IDE controller appears to be one device (from a performance point of view) to the OS, as it cannot access each device simultaneously - it must access them one at a time, either one or the other...
But as long as you are aware that burning from the HD with the burner slaved to it is not ideal, there's no other reason not to do it.
Regards
Related resources
November 29, 2006 2:37:36 PM

Jumper the HD master, the optical drive as slave. Set the boot order in the BIOS to give that HD a low priority, and you should be fine