Sign in with
Your question

My PC spec. What do you think? (need opinions before i build

Last response: in Systems
November 29, 2006 7:31:38 PM

well, i made a pc on paper and thought that this spec wouold be good for applications and gaming and an alround very fast pc. I wanted some input on this from other people beofre i build it so it will work as i want it to? What do you think of this spec? (i am unwilling ot OC btw :S)

CPU, Intel Core 2 duo, E6600
ECS motherboard 2pcix16, 5 sata
320gb hardrive 7200rpm 16mb chache
1024mb DDr2 RAM 670mhz
CDRW/DVD
Dongle, SATA to IDE (do i need this to get my IDE (above) into the mothorbord??).
Casing, 400w PSU
Nvidia 256mb DDR2 Graphics card (Asus Nvidia 7600GT 256MB DDR3 TV out DVI PCI-E).

If you need mroe details to properlly asses please say so. I also wanted to know if all these parts will work together etc. I ahve made sure the socket for CPU and chipsets r compatible etc. sorry this is my first time. any comments?

More about : spec opinions build

November 29, 2006 7:38:16 PM

could you be a little more specific when it comes to the case/psu and the mobo? the fact that your using a bundled psu worries me, and it would help to know what kind of ECS mobo.
November 29, 2006 7:42:22 PM

bundled CPU? ya what?

Mobo:

Model
Brand: ECS
Model: P965T-A (V1.0)

Supported CPU
CPU Socket Type: Socket T (LGA 775)
CPU Type: Intel Core 2 Extreme/Core 2 Duo/Pentium D/Celeron
FSB: 1066/800MHz
Supported CPU Technologies: Hyper-Threading Technology

Chipsets
North Bridge: Intel P965 Express
South Bridge: Intel ICH8

Memory
Number of DDR2 Slots: 4x 240pin DDR2
DDR2 Standard: DDR2 800
Maximum Memory Supported: 8GB
Dual Channel Supported: Yes

Expansion Slots
PCI Express x16: 2
PCI Express x1: 2
PCI Slots: 3

Storage Devices
PATA: 1 x ATA100 up to 2 Devices
SATA: 3Gb/s 5
Additional RAID Controller: JMicron JMB361

Onboard Video
Onboard Video: No

Onboard Audio
Audio Chipset: Realtek ALC883
Audio Channels: 8 Channels

Onboard LAN