What are the processor requirements for X1950XTX and X1900XT

Machine_Maker

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2006
I've read several good things about the X1950XTX and X1900XTX video cards, but before I bought one of these cards I wanted to know what are the processor requirements for these two cards are. I sure someone here knows. I checked ATI's website, ASUS's and several of the others, but couldn't find anything about the processor requirements. Can someone help me with this? Thanks in advance.

chameleon101

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
I have an Asus x1900cf master card with and opteron 180, which is similar to a 4800+ dual core, run's mint, also have the Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe mobo (s939) which has the R580(crossfire xpress 3200), make sure it is a fast chip and you shouldnt have any trouble.

Machine_Maker

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2006
I have no doubt that you know what your talking about, so please don't take offense. I should have made it clearer in my first post, but this is why I ask the question. On the Diamond website (http://www.diamondmm.com/X1950XTX512PCIE.php ) it says the System Requirements are "Intel® Pentium® 4 or AMD® Athlon® 64 FX CPU's, CPU running at 2.4 GHz or higher ", but on some of the other maker's website it says nothing about processor requirements. I wouldn't think so, but does the different makers of the X1950XTX card have different requirements? The only difference between this card and some of the others I've been looking at is the Memory Speed of 2.0 GHz. Is my processor close enough or is there something I'm missing? Thanks again for you patients and wisdom.

CompuTronix

Intel Master
Your 3700 San Diego core is one of the best single core processors that AMD has produced, as the X2 4400 Toledo is it's dual core counterpart. I'm sure you know the 3700 is highly overclockable, as it's the same core as the FX-57 at 2.8Ghz. The ceiling for the 3700 can exceed 3.0Ghz.