Getting into a Technical Support Job

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ninjabear

Distinguished
Jul 29, 2007
I've been trying to break into technical support at any level and I'm finding it a bit difficult. What's the best way of getting onto the first rung of the ladder? I've been applying to jobs but have no interviews yet. My previous jobs are in web design and development so I have no experience in this area. What is the best thing to look out for for getting into a job like thi? I don't know anyone in this area so that isn't a possibility.

ceekay

Distinguished
Oct 13, 2010
Never give up buddy I also started as with a crapy job even thou I m nt yet into technical support bt my spirit is up

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
It's tough out there man. I have a Bachelor's in IT, and experience, and still have trouble getting interviews, even with 3 letters of recommendation from my former employer. Tough market out there for certain.

I have a Bachelors in Computer Networking and Info Sec. Took me about 8 months to get a job, I didnt have many interviews either. Since you have no work experience in the Tech support field you may want to get a certification like A+ (really easy) or something like that, helps stand out on your resume. When I was hunting for jobs i was using craigslist, monster, careerbuilder,dice,and a few local ones.

For reference I asked my supervisor who many applicants they got for my postion (Tech Support) he said over 200 ranging from dish washers to CIO's. I dont know how many they had for there first wave of interviews but there were only 2 or 3 (including me) for the second set of interviews.

dEAne

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2009
HR cannot just accept people without experience on those areas so even if you finished school they want to know if you can deal with the problems they have in that companies. For the interviews you have to wait we really don't know how many there are were passing applications.

Psychoteddy

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2010